Conquering Fear

Watch this.

[tweet https://twitter.com/thedanpalla/status/423521041399300096 align=’center’]

When Dan tweeted this today, I knew I had to click it. Something about the context resonated with me. Not so much the video, but the audio WITH the video. Hearing the trepidation, the uncertainty in her voice makes me think of myself.

I’ve always been one to give in to fear instead of saying “I can do this”. Fear of failure is huge for me. If you’ve read any of my blog posts before, you know I am a perfectionist. I despise failing at anything. I despise it so much that I often don’t even try after.

  • Should I?
  • Do I?
  • Will I?
  • What will happen if?

After lengthy and frustrating analyzation, I give up before even trying — not a positive career strategy.

Watching this today has me confronting this again. I started a Google+ Hangout this year and had two phenomenal guests. First one went great, but the second one “I” had technical issues so it didn’t turn out like I wanted. #Fail

My view count? Suffice to say, when you’re uncomfortable at selling you, you’re setting yourself up for failure. I don’t want to be one of those people who comes across as me-first. In social media today, especially on Twitter, it is very much a me-first mindset. Promoting and helping others? That’s easy-peezy and satisfying.

Needless to say, however, I am disappointed with the views. How could you not be when it’s all about the views in this business? I won’t give up doing the Hangouts because I love the potential of Google+ in sports. I’ve been banging that drum for the past few months. Chris Yates has been banging that drum longer than me. The possibilities could be endless.

I’m still afraid of failure. But, I love learning something new. So I’ll continue doing these Hangouts. I thoroughly enjoy talking with people who I respect. Plus, I want to promote who they are and what they do. I’m not trained for this, but I know I can do it. I can do anything I set my mind to do.

Sometimes, it just takes a bit of talking to myself through writing like this just like the girl in the video.

“I can do this. I’m gonna jump.”

***

Does this resonate with you too? I’d love to hear from you in the comments below or hit me up on Twitter (@CadChica) or Google+.

***

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

