BCS Championship: What I Saw…Socially

Good night, BCS.

The much-maligned Bowl Championship Series is now history. Tonight, we saw the final BCS Championship game between the Auburn Tigers and Florida State Seminoles. What a game it was! Florida State down for much of the game for the first time all season wins it with a late TD, 34-31. Congratulations to the Seminoles.

Earlier today, I wrote a social media-sports (#SMsports) post called, “BCS Championship: What I’m Watching For…Socially“. Although I did watch the game (thanks to the ESPN BCS Megacast), I was also monitoring the social media scene for the two schools (teams) on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and any other applicable social network. I hadn’t intended to monitor as closely as I did, but it was well-received on Twitter that I continued sharing the data below.

1st Quarter

Halftime

3rd Quarter

End of Game

***

As someone who is math challenged and a perfectionist, I had to double-check my math skills (if I still made one, don’t tell me). Mistakes are easy to make when you’re in the moment so it’s a good idea to re-check your work. Sticking with the parameters of in-game social media activity only (after kickoff through 0:00 on the clock), the final breakdown is as follows [I allowed a bit of extra time for each team’s final game-tweet]:

Auburn Tigers

@FootballAU = 45 tweets

Top tweet

*

FootballAU = 3 actual Facebook posts, 7 photos

Top post

*

auathletics Instagram = 0 pictures

*

Auburn Athletics YouTube = 2 videos posted

Top video

***

Florida State Seminoles

@FSU_Football = 56 tweets

Top tweet

*

FSUFootball = 4 posts

Top post (same as Twitter)

*

fsufootball Instagram = 0 pictures

*

FLStateSeminoles You Tube = 0 videos

***

OTHER NOTES

I didn’t see these numbers tweeted out by Twitter officially, but they are worth sharing. Does Twitter have an email list I don’t know about?

*

Pinterest? Both teams are on there. The schools could have created BCS Championship-specific boards, but no. They opted for the requisite website photo galleries: FSU, Auburn. Auburn tweeted this same picture at 9:11 pm PT and it now makes its way to their website:

AuburnTigers.com   Official Athletics Site of the Auburn Tigers

Florida State has this on their splash page:

FSU Splash

I’ll give Florida State credit for using their Google+ page this week. But, as I write this, the Seminoles’ Facebook cover photo still shows this:

FSU FB page

On another note, it was fun checking Topsy during the game. While it’s not as detailed as I would like given that I’ve used their Pro version, Topsy came through in a pinch. Here are what I feel were the top terms over the past day:

jameis

*Topsy Auburn

*Topsy FSU

*Topsy Mason

*

Thankfully, I had a bit of fun with Topsy too:

***

FINAL THOUGHTS: I don’t know the resources or strategy of either program. However, for two large universities like Auburn and FSU, I expected more. Not necessarily more tweets because the tweets were fine. I’m thinking along the lines of visual content. ZERO Instagram posts during the game? Surely someone from the athletic department was on the sideline and could have taken pictures from on the field or go into the stands where fans are and take fan pictures.

Were there restrictions that we aren’t aware of? If so, I’ll change my stance. Same, if the staffs were undersized for such an event. But, you’re Florida State and Auburn. ACC and SEC, respectively. Less than a handful of Facebook posts too? That type of activity doesn’t bode well for Facebook’s desire to be an in-event place for people to chat, does it (that’s a post for another day)?

Maybe my expectations were too high. I’ve seen great content from teams this season. Infographics became a growing trend for schools – not a single one tonight that I could see. Just like their football teams, athletic/digital/social departments for these two schools had a month to plan a social media strategy for this game. Unless there were restrictions placed on what they could do, all I see is a missed opportunity.

Tell me your thoughts. What did you think of each school’s social media efforts? Were there restrictions I didn’t know about? Could they have done more? If so, what more did you want to see? Let me know either in the comments below or on Twitter. 

Could have been worse:

Regardless, it was a fitting way to end the BCS era. Here’s hoping the playoffs can bring us similar excitement in college football. Until then,

***

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

