My 2013 Thanks

2013 is nearly over here in America. The end of a year often brings a time of reflection. Reflection upon the year just past, people encountered, and new experiences lived. I’ve written about my goals for 2014 as well as what transpired in sports-social media in 2013.

2013 was a very challenging year. I started out working two jobs. In both, I gave my all with my passion and knowledge (experience). By mid-August, both were gone. Having been in the work force since I was 16, this was quite foreign to me. Thankfully, through the beauty of LinkedIn, I was able to secure another job by end of November.

Before facing the trial of unemployment, I tried to be thankful. Thanking people I encountered in person and on social media. I can’t say “always tried to be thankful” because nobody is perfect. Life’s curveballs bring trials that we’ve never experienced. They force us to grow, mature and, if you let them, change. Thankfulness is a trait I’m constantly learning how to do.

Life’s curveballs also help you to see. Through social media, I “saw” people who gave, thanked, shared, asked and answered questions and (seem to) genuinely care for me. Without having met most of them in person, I came to respect and cherish their friendship. They cared about how I was doing during my unemployment period. They gave my knowledge and opinion validation. They were willing to teach me and help me learn beyond anything a classroom could offer. They showed me respect in various ways through social media.

To them (in no particular order), I give my eternal thanks.

  • My family
  • Bryan Srabian
  • Tariq Ahmad
  • Mike Freeman
  • Kristi Dosh
  • Jimmy Sanderson
  • Lisa Horne
  • Christina Deubel
  • Cindy Hval
  • Jocelyn Stott
  • Jamie Lynn Morgan
  • Myk Crawford
  • Russell Baxter
  • Dave Cook
  • Kyle Bruce
  • Keith Fitting
  • Dennis Patchin
  • Keith Osso
  • Mark Burns
  • Eric SanInocencio
  • Chris Griffin
  • Sheri Grossman
  • Tom Buchheim
  • Dave Zorn
  • Paola Boivin
  • All of the people I came to know through #SMsportschat (every Thursday at 6pm PT where you can meet people like Derrick, Pam, Jessica, Kevin, Morris and many more who know social media-sports)
  • ESPN UNITE
  • The Sporting Nation
  • Sportsmanias
  • The folks from VoiceByte
  • Christine DeGraff, David Schiffman and all of my “new” friends on Google+

I apologize in advance if I didn’t include your name on this list. I’ll try to do better in 2014 of acknowledging everyone who impacts my social media life in a positive way.

And to you as well, my faithful subscribers and readers, Twitter, Instagram, Google+, Pinterest, Vine, Snapchat and Tumblr followers, Facebook Likers, and LinkedIn connections. (Did I miss any networks?) These last two-plus years of my blog and four-plus years on social media have been amazingly challenging and rewarding.

Cheers to you all for a fantastic 2014.

***

A few favorites from social media this year:

*

*

*

*

***

CadChica Sports

One comment on “My 2013 Thanks

  1. Thank you my friend đŸ™‚ Honored to be mentioned and enjoy chatting with you about all things social media and beyond. Cheers to a fabulous 2014!!

Leave a Reply

