“Doing Good” In Sports

***

Today was walking day.

IMG_0115

Yes, that’s my dog. His name is Chewey.

When “the face” keeps staring at you, you know it’s time to go for a walk.

I usually take Chewey to an empty field near our house. It allows me to let Chewey off of his leash so he can run and explore unencumbered by his leash. The negative to that is…

Bunny in the fieldAt various times in my walk around this field, I encounter items like this bunny. He’s in decent enough condition but much of the trash is, well, exactly that – trash. Think discarded clothes, broken appliances, worn down furniture. 

And tires. 

Discarded tireThis is just one of several piles of discarded tires in this field. They’ve been there so long that it reminded me of a story I wrote on Yahoo! Contributor Network in April 2012 entitled, “Disposable Athletes“. Recommended reading in light of the pay-for-play debate that rages in college sports and concussion litigation in the NFL. 

As that story popped back into my mind, I thought of the negative story (and continuing negative stories) surrounding Johnny Manziel. I quickly moved from Manziel to the MLB player suspensions and of course, that lead me to Alex Rodriguez. Which somehow, inexplicably, moved me back to my current dilemma: being jobless.

***

I’ve been writing about sports-social media for two years plus. I’ve seen the good and the bad. I’ve seen stories that have moved me to tears or angry as a hornet’s nest piñata. Maybe it’s the fact that I am without a job that I am “seeing” the negative. Or, it’s the natural evolution of Twitter in the sports journalism context. It’s the

“World’s Largest Sports Bar Message Board News Outlet”

The negative stories aren’t going anywhere. I am in this business, I accept that it’s part of the package. But, the negative doesn’t have to get the coverage. I keep expecting other well-known, respected sports journalists to focus on the positives more but, views help pay the bills and negative stories get views. We’re all guilty of being slave to the “view-master”.

As I walked today, I decided for at least one day, one post, I wanted to focus on the good stories in sports. I collected a few stories and images from the past couple of days to share with you. The first one has some meaning to me:

Not For Sale is an organization that is fighting to end human trafficking and slavery in this world. Yes, slavery does still exist. Oftentimes, it is children who are the innocent victims. They are sold for various reasons, including to simply pay a doctor bill, and are forced into the sex slave trade or forced labor. We hear about so many other “rights” issues from athletes and sports media, but this is one we don’t hear enough about: children’s rights.

The Dodgers will be holding their “Not For Sale” night on August 26th:

NFS FB postThe Dodgers aren’t the only ones in MLB to have a night devoted to Not For Sale. The San Francisco Giants held one recently too. Here is the promo video for it:

Thank you Dodgers, Giants and MLB for “doing good”.

*

Two pictures captured my attention recently from the Twitterverse. They’re quite different and yet, they have one striking thing in common.

Smiles. A child should have a life filled with smiles.  Joy, laughter, fun, wonder, amazement – those should be part of a childhood.

Thank you Green Bay Packers, Aaron Rodgers and the Miami Marlins for “doing good”.

*

I first came across this story Sunday night on Yahoo! Sports.Kyle Seager receives touching letter from young Astros fan struck by his bat” read the headline. As a Seattle Mariners fan, I made sure to read about Seager. According to the story, Seager’s wife, Julie, tweeted this letter out. She has since deleted the tweet but it can still be found via Cut4.

Seager letterAdorable. Simply adorable. Children can teach us a thing or two about sports, can’t they?

Thank you, Lyle and Kyle, for “doing good”.

*

Are you detecting a theme yet? If not, here’s one more for you:

Nothing But Nets is an organization that is helping to combat the spread of malaria in Africa. According to the Nothing But Nets website, malaria is “the leading killer of children“. Children under the age of 5 are particularly susceptible.

The Warriors’ Steph Curry, along with ESPN’s Rick Reilly, traveled to Africa to deliver the nets Curry was donating to the fight. According to the link in the Warriors’ tweet, which you can read here, those nets were as a result of Curry’s prolific 3-point shooting: three nets for every three made. The children in the picture above – their faces and smiles are priceless.

Thank you, Steph Curry, for “doing good”.

***

FINAL THOUGHTS: What’s the point of this post? My hope isn’t in the view numbers (although that would be nice). What I’m hoping for is that each of us will look for the good stories, the positive stories, in sports more often. I’d love to say that I’ll focus on the positive stories from here on out, but I’d be lying. I’ll try to but being in the sports-social media area of journalism, I write/report on what’s out there.

And if you made it this far, you just found one of my passions. Probably won’t do it again any time soon. 

***

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

