Today Became PED Day In Sports

It’s all about the drugs, baby!

No, not doing drugs. Drugs are in the news today. PEDs, to be exact. And in two of the major sports here in the United States. Up first? MLB and Ryan Braun, of course.

“As I have acknowledged in the past, I am not perfect. I realize now that I have made some mistakes. I am willing to accept the consequences of those actions. This situation has taken a toll on me and my entire family, and it has been a distraction to my teammates and the Brewers organization. I am very grateful for the support I have received from players, ownership and the fans in Milwaukee and around the country.

Finally, I wish to apologize to anyone I may have disappointed — all of the baseball fans especially those in Milwaukee, the great Brewers organization, and my teammates. I am glad to have this matter behind me once and for all, and I cannot wait to get back to the game I love.” – via MLB.com

The Milwaukee Brewers’ Ryan Braun has been suspended for the remainder of the 2013 season. 65 games, to be exact.

Opinions are a dime a dozen. I’ve said it before. But, when those in baseball tweet, I pay attention.

But this one, from the Arizona Diamondbacks’ Brandon McCarthy is perfectly suited to this situation:

***

Major League Baseball wasn’t alone in “drug news” today. The NFL and the NFL Players Association are inching ever closer to HGH (Human Growth Hormone) testing, according to this report on NFL.com. The HGH news broke earlier this morning, prior to the Braun news. A double-dose of PED news generated these two questions from former NFL player, Scott Fujita:

Simple yes or no questions, right? Maybe not.

The question, however, might be better answered this way:

***

MY TAKE: Sports is business. Many of us like to say we just enjoy watching for pure enjoyment but behind it all is it’s business. Teams and athletes are in it to make money. They’re no different from any of us. We all want to make money doing something we love. They’re doing it at another level, but it’s still the same desire.

The amount of money involved in sports is, in some cases, obscene. In today’s money-driven leagues, players can’t afford injuries. There’s always someone waiting to take your place at this level of sport. They have to find an edge. They have to maintain their advantage. It’s only natural (sorry, no pun intended) that athletes attempt to do so through PED use.

Right or wrong, it’s an issue that’s not going away anytime soon. But…

I will say this – when you get caught with your hands in the cookie jar, don’t blame the other guy for the chocolate chip all over your face.

***

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

