Fun While It Lasted

UNITE logo

I expected it to be a punch to the gut.

It wasn’t. Between rumors and changes in staff this past month, it seems I was already prepared for the inevitable.

Cancellation.

Today, the show I worked on for ESPN, UNITE, was being cancelled.

It’s been an extremely fun ride. How many people go from working in insurance to ESPN in a matter of months? I never expected to work for ESPN, even in a freelance role. Through happenstance my name came up in conversation at ESPN and there I was…suddenly working for ESPN. It didn’t matter that I wasn’t in Bristol. I was a small part in the creation of a one-of-a-kind show.

Meeting and working with some amazingly talented people was a bit intimidating at first. But they allowed me to learn and grow, challenged me, and step outside the box in my creative thinking. The fun of seeing the stories I found or my segment ideas on screen was surreal.

The sad, May rumors of our demise have proven true. When rumors swirled around our future, it was nice to see some support from our fans:

I think this is my favorite:

I hear you. I hear you.

Feel kind of sorry for this guy:

*Cue sad-face emoticon*

***

One of those extremely talented people, Will Schleichert, put this lasting memory together. *Cue tears*

***

So, what’s next for me? No idea. I still have a local client I do business with, so maybe I’ll add another client or look into ending this freelance thing and find a “permanent” job.

Then again, maybe it’s time to step back a bit and see what I can do with this blog. Perhaps hone the purpose a bit more. Curating content is my specialty. There’s so much content out there that the “big guns” haven’t found yet so maybe that’s where I fit in. 

I love to write. I love to talk about sports (and set people straight, too). I love being on social media. Now, I find that I enjoy creating story ideas for a show. But there’s an abundance of talented, not to mention younger, cheaper and better-looking, people out there in this business. I’ll figure it out. I’m a firm believer that when one door closes, another opens.

An abundance of thank yous go out to: Kristi Dosh, Yaron Deskalo, Gabriella Robuccio, Peter Coughter, Josh Parcell, Reese Waters, Marianela Pereyra, Danny Kanell, DJ Rob Swift, and everyone else I worked with directly/indirectly on UNITE.

Thank you for letting me be just a small part of the fun.

***

CadChica Sports

This entry was posted in Twitter.

Leave a Reply

