Journalists Anonymous

Monitoring Twitter most of the day can be a mixture of entertainment, learning and frustration.

I came across a tweet in my NFL list today that was intriguing.

Quickly it was followed by this

Sources can be a (wait for it) source of consternation among many in the sports media Twitterverse. As such, I retweeted the above two tweets.

But the tweets continued. One, however, stood out among others:

It goes without saying that there is obviously more going on that we don’t know about behind the tweets. Something sure set him off to tweet/post on Facebook that diatribe about journalism.

No, what I’m more interested in what was said about bloggers.

For a number of years, I’ve felt that there was a lack of a knowledgeable (aka: reasonable) fan voice to the sports conversation. Too many times you hear the ‘idiots’ get on sports radio or are laughed at on Twitter as what’s representative of the sports fan. That, for me, is far from the case. Radio is a little more selective than Twitter as producers can decide who gets on the air. Often times, it’s the ranting/raving lunatics that get air-time (think: ratings).  Twitter allows for anyone, and I do mean anyone, to have a voice.

That’s why I started this blog. It’s one thing to tweet 140 characters of what you feel. It’s another thing to put your sports opinions out there on a blog. Although I’m technically “in media’, at my core I’m just a fan. And at their core, bloggers are fans too.

***

The fan voice is getting more and more powerful. Why else would sites like SB Nation and Bleacher Report become such prominent members of the sports media industry? Fans want a voice. And fans are the backbone of those two sites which is probably why Deadspin, et al, have added Community-type pages where regular folks can be contributors.

Contributors who are non-journalists.

Non-journalists who do not have a journalism degree AND are not paid to write on “blogs” or sites. Non-journalists who believe that there is an unheard voice in the mass conversation that is the sports landscape. Non-journalists who what they lack in education make up for with passion. Non-journalists who know that despite the odds, there is a place for them if they write responsibly, ethically, analytically, and diligently.

See, I’m a non-journalist. I didn’t go to college. I don’t have the degree. I haven’t toiled at a newspaper. But, I like to put that I went to the:

University of Life

School of Hard Knocks

Degree in Common Sense

In this day and age, common sense can be a forgotten trait. But as I’ve transitioned from the corporate world to sports media, it’s come in more often than you can imagine. Common sense helps me to know when something should be reported (tweeted or retweeted). Common sense guides me in who I should trust or for that matter, follow on Twitter. Common sense has taught me to use my instincts with interview questions or topics to write.

And common sense combined with an uncompromising work ethic is what I have built this blog on. It’s what I’ve used to gain what I hope is respect in this business.

Despite not having that title of “journalist”.

***

CadChica Sports

This entry was posted in Media.

One comment on “Journalists Anonymous

  1. Great post…It’s ultimately about credibility, regardless of your educational background. That’s what helped get you there. It’s now the writers or bloggers job to responsibly stay there!

Leave a Reply

