Sports Fans: Be Informed, Not Dictated To

A level playing field. For a fan like me, that is all I have ever wanted when it comes to sports opinions.

Prior to social media, sports opinions, for years, were dictated by media. Sports news came via radio, newspaper, or broadcast television. As internet and cable/satellite grew, the availability of information corresponded in kind.

And then along came social media.

In a February article published on mediabistro.com,

Platforms such as Twitter and Facebook have given fans the opportunity to stay
connected  with organizations, teams, sporting personalities, news outlets – and each other –

which has been hugely successful for everyone involved.

Indeed it has.

*

In the context of sports, I agree with the above tweet.

Then again, I’m not the traditional sports fan. I used to be. Watch the games. Cheer for my teams. Check news online. Even on Facebook, I would follow “my” teams.

But it wasn’t enough. Something was missing for me.

I wanted more. I wanted to know the intricacies of media opinion. Why does a sportswriter say one thing while sports radio guy says something completely different about the same thing? Opinions vary obviously but, what about when the topic is “tweeted” by media from across the sports landscape? Twitter provides instant insight on sports topics with media from all parts of the country (world), with diverse family, educational, employment, cultural and racial backgrounds. Discard them if you will but those backgrounds influence the opinions of sports media.

That’s why Twitter is so valuable to the sports conversation. Wide ranging opinions on a subject from various sports news outlets allow fans to form “their own” opinion. No longer does opinion need to be dictated to fans. Unless, of course, fans stick to old standbys like ESPN. Nothing wrong with ESPN for sports news but sole reliance on it means fans are dictated “to”. Whatever broadcasting contracts ESPN has with sports leagues/conferences, their news tends to lean toward those topics. One-sided, biased opinion right?

*

Not good enough for me. I want to be a knowledgeable sports fan. Give me varying degrees of opinion from people I agree and disagree with. I don’t care if so & so “hates” my team or they are “jerks” to people, they still might have information I might find useful on Twitter. It doesn’t mean I have to “follow” them. I put them on a Twitter list. Still accessing their tweets without giving them the “pleasure” of a follower number.

Consider this my “call” to sports fans everywhere to get informed. Use the resources available through Twitter to become a knowledgeable sports fan and not resort to name-calling tactics like this:

*

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

