Happy BlogBirthday/Blogiversary To Me

A man is not old until regrets take the place of dreams. ~John Barrymore

Sports are a road lined with dreams. There are dreams the size of Wal-Mart (making the “big leagues”) or dreams the size of Mom & Pop Market (making a high school team). It doesn’t matter if you’re an athlete, a businessman (owner) or a sportswriter/journalist, dreams to be in sports come in all shapes, sizes and colors. Including my own.

*

I have always been a sports fan. When I was born, instead of crying “wah”, I said “Rai-, rai-, rai-ders” instead. My family, including my almost 80-year-old mother and 80 +year-old aunt, are huge sports fans. We all played sports, attended sporting events, watched it on tv and of course, debated it. However, as the youngest in the family my voice wasn’t heard very much.

*

Almost three years ago, I discovered Twitter. At first, I used it for, of all things, online shopping deals. Being a gal that can’t stand shopping, it was perfect for me. Until I discovered sports people on Twitter. There weren’t many on my timeline at first but I began to see the connections grow. And grow. And, well, you know, grow.

Twitter has become an integral part of the sports experience. Twitter account names and even hashtags have invaded live sporting events, uniforms, even sports television shows. It’s all connected.

That’s where I come in. Seeing before the growth explosion, I took it upon myself to become a Twitter sports reporter. Utilizing lists and third-party application “TweetDeck”, I began to track the happenings in the sports world before most major networks integrated Twitter into their every day reporting. Something happened in the NFL, I’d see it on Twitter and re-tweet it or tweet the information myself. Hockey? Got it covered. Golf? That too. College sports? Of course. You name it, I’ve tweeted or re-tweeted it, including controversial subjects like the Penn State scandal, just to name one.By bringing the content, I created my own niche in the sports media landscape as a Twitter sports reporter. Thus, my dream was ignited and my voice began to be heard.

*
Seems as though everyone has a blog, especially a sports blog. I wanted one that was different. Because of my proficiency on Twitter to track sports like nobody else, Wide World of Tworts was born. Tworts is a combination of “sports” and “Twitter”. This blog began one year ago today as an extension of my Twitter voice. Beginning with tracking Twitter followers and evolving to embedding tweets to track hot topics, it has been an incredible journey for me.
With no formal education or experience in writing or social media, through Twitter and this blog I have been able to make connections with people throughout sports on both a national scale and locally. It amazes me every time I think about it. My voice is heard.
*
My dream now has a voice that is heard. Which brings me to the next step in my life.
I’ve been trying to work a full-time job in addition to this social media thing. Not sure how I’ve been doing it but not always with success. The time has come for something to give.
So I am stepping away from the “job” and jumping full-bore into this sports media business. I’m at a place in my life where I can make this switch. More importantly I believe I can do it.
What does that mean for the blog? I’m not sure yet. Initially, I want to do more writing; opinion pieces, instant reaction stories. In the future, we’ll see. There are opportunities and possibilities that I’m exploring and we’ll see where they lead. It’s something I know I was meant to do: combining my love of sports with my knowledge and giving it a voice. 
Every road leads to somewhere, even a sports road. I don’t want to look back at my life and find my dream replaced by regret. If I don’t do it now, I never will.
So look out sports media world, CadChica’s coming. I’ve got a voice.
And I know how to use it.
*

CadChica Sports

[Not exactly how I saw my blogbirthday/blogiversary post going but sometimes you go the way the words flow.]

Leave a Reply

