Spanning the Twitterverse: Culture Gone Too Far?

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets
The thrill of the retweet and the agony of the unfollow
The human drama of the twitter timeline
This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

Sometimes I look back at old posts and am amazed at how they are still relevant months later. Then there are posts that I thought would be relevant and, sad to say, are not. Such is the case today.

The tweet above got me thinking about something I’ve written before (twice, actually) on college sports. It’s calledHey College Sports Fans: How Far Will You Go?“.

It was written after the University of Miami scandal broke on Yahoo! Sports. The news of the scandal was huge. The sordid, lengthy details, were of such an explosive nature that the words “Death Penalty were actually brought up as a potential penalty for the school. That hasn’t happened since SMU football’s glory days.

As more details of this scandal have unfolded, I find myself more and more in awe of the magnitude of this story. Maybe “awe” isn’t the right word but, you have to admit that the depth of this story is at the very least, mind-boggling.

While there may come a time where I will update my “Hey College Sports Fans” post, now isn’t the time. But what I will suggest is to read it. No matter what the scandal is in college sports, and we are encountering more every month, we, as sports fans, must remember our contribution to the culture that exists in big-time college athletics. And when I say contribution, I’m not talking financially. Our “demands” for results (i.e. championships) breeds a desire for money. Without money you can’t compete. If you can’t compete, you can’t win. If you can’t win, fans (boosters) won’t give money. If fans don’t give money you can’t improve the facilities. If you can’t improve the facilities, big-time players won’t come to the school. If big-time players don’t come to your school, you won’t win championships. If you don’t win championships…..

It is an endless cycle. And if you’ve followed the Jerry Sandusky/Penn State story at all, you will understand that there was a prevailing culture present, as it is at so many other successful athletic programs. The culture, that is created by big-time athletics, is partly our fault, as fans. I’m not afraid to admit it. It is a hard to separate myself from it, being a fan for so long. But then I have to ask myself:

How far am I willing to go to see “my” team win? 

Ask yourself the same question regarding your school: How far are you willing to go for “your” team?  

CadChica Sports 

Leave a Reply

