Spanning the Twitterverse: RIP Joe Frazier

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets
The thrill of the retweet and the agony of the unfollow
The human drama of the twitter timeline
This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

The title of this blog is a take on a show I watched growing up: Wide World of Sports. Before cable (yes, I’m that old), there was your basic standard television of ABC, NBC, CBS, PBS. That is all that existed in my house. And for a sports fan like me, even at a young age, I was drawn to what I saw on ABC for sports.

And one of the many memories I had of Wide World of Sports was boxing. Howard Cosell, Muhammad Ali and Joe Frazier. Permanent fixtures in my mind of the epic fight build-ups, the battles in the ring and the inevitable post-fight drama in the days after. With Cosell having died in 1995, it was just the two champs for the last 16 years. That is, until tonight. “Smokin'” Joe Frazier died from liver cancer at the age of 67.

I’m not here to write a glowing obituary of him. But there are certain stories that are must-reads for any sports fan: NY Times and Yahoo!

To be sure, there will be more. I will try to add the story links as time permits. But until then, there was a great outpouring of condolences in the Twitterverse tonight as you might expect. If you see a link in a tweet, please click on it.

What the Twitterverse said about Joe Frazier’s death:

*************************************************************************************

*************************************************************************************

These two tweets I have set apart for a reason. The first….well, just imagine Howard Cosell saying it. The second, click on the link in the tweet. Thank me later.

*************************************************************************************

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

