Spanning the Twitterverse: Say “Pryor Please”?

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets
The thrill of the retweet and the agony of the unfollow
The human drama of the twitter timeline
This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

If you’ve written a blog long enough, some days you have ‘writer’s block’, some days the posts ‘write themselves’ and some days, you’re just not sure. Today fits in there somewhere but I’m not sure where.

After an evening of watching soccer, I came across a tweet that didn’t generate a lot of response in the Twitterverse tonight. That’s probably because most of the people who cover the sport were asleep at the time. Nevertheless, the tweet itself had my interest:

****************************************************************************

Way back when (last month actually), the NFL made an unprecedented decision to suspend Terrelle Pryor before he was drafted. This comes after Pryor decided to leave Ohio State and enter the supplemental draft in June due to a memorabilia for cash scandal. Pryor had been suspended by the NCAA for the first five games of the 2011 season. These five games, were ‘grandfathered’ in, if you will, by commissioner Roger Goodell. .

At that time, here was the Twitterverse reaction (old tweets ahead):

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

****************************************************************************

Pryor was drafted. By the Raiders of course (my team). I even posted about it here. From that post, it’s pretty evident I wasn’t a Terrelle Pryor fan right? I still wasn’t a fan when I wrote my next Pryor post regarding his “supposed” Wonderlic test score(s). I wouldn’t say my mind was changed about him but a bit more empathetic? Yes.

Fast forward to tonight with Jason La Canfora’s tweet above that Pryor’s suspension hearing is tomorrow. This is on the heels of a report today that Pryor was a “bagman” between a notorious Ohio State booster and current Buckeye players.

Ugh! Double ugh! I honestly don’t know how I feel about it at this point. On the one hand, the suspension makes sense in that it doesn’t allow college players to “run” from trouble they made while in school. On the other hand, I think it’s crossing a fine line for the NFL to enforce an NCAA punishment. To me, that gives the appearance of a “relationship” between the two parties. A working relationship. Whether I’m right or not, if it’s a “working” relationship, why not just call the NCAA minor league football? How else can a one entity enforce the punishment of a completely separate entity? To me, it can only be done if they are in a “working” relationship. I’m not a lawyer so I have no legal basis for my statement. This is strictly my opinion, probably wrong, but one that I firmly believe in.

With that said, it will be interesting to see how this plays out. I have no doubt that Pryor will still be suspended. It will simply be a question of how long. I don’t know that I will post Twitterverse reaction to it tomorrow so consider that your homework assignment? Not really, but it may make for an interesting Thursday on the Twitterverse. Very interesting indeed if an actual decision is made tomorrow. We shall see.

****************************************************************************

TWEET OF THE POST

This is usually my Tweet of the Day/Night section. But because of the nature of the post (i.e. using old tweets), I figured I’d better use an old tweet to continue the theme. It’s still a tweet about Terrelle Pryor, but it’s a bit aged. An oldie but a goodie if you will.

http://twitter.com/#!/DuranLA/status/105728622836449280

****************************************************************************

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

