Spanning the Twitterverse: McGinn & Pryor

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets
The thrill of the retweet and the agony of the unfollow
The human drama of the twitter timeline
This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

It all started so innocently enough. (Doesn’t it always on Twitter though?)

Bob McGinn was just recently inducted to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Someone of that stature, most people are going to read his tweet and take it as gospel and retweet it (with or without commentary – jokes especially). Here are a few tweets:

.

.

.

.

.

************************************************************************************************

Then a slightly different take on the matter. A “voice of reason” maybe? And also one from straight from the source:

.

http://twitter.com/#!/TerrellePryor/status/109040090692599808

************************************************************************************************

That in turn spawned this funny response from Gregg Doyle:

************************************************************************************************

Oh how I wish it ended there but it didn’t. Bob McGinn posted the tweet below with his side of the full story.

************************************************************************************************

[NOTE: It’s up to you to read the column to get the full context of what Mr. McGinn was saying. If you read it though, I’m curious…..who are these “NFL personnel people”?]

Okay, full disclosure here: I have a “strong dislike” for Ohio State. But I am a Raiders fan. I was none too thrilled, however, when they drafted Pryor in the supplemental draft. Read my post here. I think I can safely say that I’m open-minded on this subject. As such, I am a bit skeptical of Mr. McGinn’s report. Maybe not so much of the content as I am about the context.

This is the question: Why would a Packers beat writer feel the need to tweet the Wonderlic score of an Oakland Raiders player? And not just tweet it but the tone of it. Granted it’s all about perception but, the way I perceived it  was: Pryor was stupid. He made stupid decisions off the field which we now understand because of how he scored on the Wonderlic test.

Some people may perceive it a different way. That’s their choice. The basis for my perception is based on Mr. McGinn’s Twitter timeline. What does that have to do with anything? Well, one look shows me that Mr. McGinn, like great sportswriters do, provide information. The problem, however, is that is all he does. There’s no interaction with others with replies or retweets. In my book, media who never interact with others on Twitter, show me they are only there for one thing. Drive traffic to their websites.

I understand that’s part of the business. Site traffic, advertising dollars, ratings (television & radio), it all goes hand in hand. I get that. And again, he is a Hall of Fame writer. If I believe however, that you’re only on Twitter to “drive traffic”, that’s telling me you’re only tweeting to get attention. You have that right. Likewise, I also have the right to believe that you are in it for you; to create controversy to get attention with just a click of the button. It’s all a part of the business.

Now then, the fact that there were two tests didn’t make these tweeps any more at ease with the whole process.

.

************************************************************************************************

I don’t know what the truth is about Pryor’s Wonderlic test. Does it matter? I don’t know but maybe Pete Prisco has a point with this tweet:

************************************************************************************************

That all being said, I am open-minded when it comes to a Tweet of the Day. So here is

TWEET OF THE DAY

************************************************************************************************

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

