Spanning the Twitterverse: The U Bomb

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets
The thrill of the retweet and the agony of the unfollow
The human drama of the twitter timeline
This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

OY! Where to start? I don’t even know where to start today. I thought it was going to be a fairly tame day today. Or maybe that’s what I was hoping for. With entertaining family the next couple of days, I really wanted a tame day in sports on Twitter. HA!

I read of rumblings over the last few days of a story coming out on the University of Miami. Being as it’s Twitter and I’m not “hooked into” the media, I kind of put it off in the believe-it-when-I-see-it category. On second thought, I had no idea what I was thinking.

In case you haven’t read it, Yahoo! Sports has put together what, by all accounts, appears to be a bombshell of a story about Miami. It is a must read for sports fans, particularly college football fans. And it reminds me of a post I did last month asking the question of college sports fans: How far will you go?.

MY TAKE: I don’t know about anyone else but I’m “almost” to the point, as a fan, where I don’t think ANY program is clean. It’s just impossible to believe you can be successful and clean in BIG TIME college sports anymore. Most in media believe this way already but I’m just a fan. I don’t think most fans think like me. They just want their team to win. Cleanly, is secondary, but win cleanly is a desire. But that’s not going to happen. It’s either one or the other. Not both. 

So. What did the Twitterverse have to say? Sadly, I cannot post all of the great tweets on this topic. Here are just a few:

*******************************************************************************************

A Pac-12 perspective, in light of the USC penalties:

*******************************************************************************************

Big East/SEC perspective:

*******************************************************************************************

Media perspective. Paul Dee, ex-athletic director at Miami, was the Chairman for the Committee on Infractions (COI) when USC was under investigation. Thus, some of the next few tweets are related to this fact:

.

.

.

.

.

.

*******************************************************************************************

And a couple of others regarding this. The first is one from an NFL sports agent. The second is from someone who actually works in a college compliance office. Needless to say, how difficult is that job?

.

 *******************************************************************************************

Lots of speculation out there about what will happen next. Nobody knows other than investigation is going on now by the NCAA. Where will this lead? When will it end? To quote a cliché’, time will tell. 

But until that time comes for Miami, don’t think this is over for any other BIG TIME school. And this tweet below is what I mean:

*******************************************************************************************

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

