Spanning the Twitterverse: What Tony Bruno Is Teaching Me

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets
The thrill of the retweet and the agony of the unfollow
The human drama of the twitter timeline
This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

From @TonyBrunoShow:

gutless #!@%*# Giants. Bochy is a coward for  having his illegal alien pitcher hit a guy since mighty Frisco boys …

And it was with that tweet that the “mighty” Tony Bruno got himself suspended.

Shoot, I say “mighty” but I had only heard of Tony Bruno in passing. I listen to sports radio, but I’m very selective in what I choose to hear. There is some pretty crude sports talk out there and frankly, it doesn’t do me any good to listen to it. Apparently, however, he is a “nationally” syndicated talk show host for Fox Sports. Oooo-kaaaay?

I first got wind of this when ESPN’s Maria Burns-Ortiz tweeted this:

So I clicked on the link in her tweet and read the Yahoo! Sports story, which gives the full context of why the tweet even was made.

I couldn’t believe it. As I think about it, it’s not so much that I couldn’t believe he said it. Again, I hardly knew anything of him prior to this. It was more what I didn’t see on Twitter. I expected outrage to pour forth from media on Twitter. Maybe it was because it happened on a weekend, but there wasn’t much of an outrage. Maybe it was the people who I follow that didn’t have much reaction. Even today, I expected something, but again, hardly a mention.

To say I was expecting it is true. Any time a derogatory remark has been made by an athlete, and on occasion by media, national sports media folks are all over it. They are tweeting to their heart’s content their outrage at the person who made it. But with this tweet by Mr. Bruno? Not much. And that makes me wonder why.

There’s a part of me that wonders if it’s because of the race involved. Full disclosure, I’m Hispanic. But, I am not usually one to overreact about derogatory tweets. There have been times where I’ve “wanted to”, but I didn’t. Because of the nature of Twitter, it’s sometimes best to just leave a subject alone. This one struck a nerve. And I think I know why.

Last month, I came across this tweet. Again I expected there to be some sort of outrage, but it never came. I still haven’t figured out why. In a day and age when athletes are criticized and/or fined for derogatory terms regarding sexual orientation, no outrage took place for this one:

I get it. He was joking. In this day and age of correctness/appropriateness, you would think he would’ve been called out on it? By media? By fans? By somebody other than me? Again, I get it. It was a joke, but…..

As I am thinking while I write, I’m trying to dissect this and make some sense of it. Tony Bruno issued an “apology” on his Facebook page, if you even want to call it that. Basically, it was a “heat of the moment” rant, according to Bruno. Kobe Bryant had a “heat of the moment” remark and got fined.  I seem to recall he got roasted by media on Twitter as well. Hmm.

Some of his fans, took Bruno’s side on Facebook, and blasted any person that didn’t understand the “heat of the moment”. When I say “person”, I’m not referring to media. I’m referring to the Giants’ fans who were upset by it. Yes, Yahoo! Sports posted a story on it but again, on Twitter, there was more outrage at Steve Williams (Tiger’s ex-caddie) than there was at Tony Bruno.

So I ask why is that? Why was there more outrage about Steve Williams than Tony Bruno? Why was there nobody in media blasting Kam Chancellor for his insensitive joke? Could it be because there is an undercurrent of resentment at the “illegal alien” culture in America? When did it become okay to joke or make an insensitive remark about Hispanics/Latinos/Mexicans/Chicanos? There was so much outrage by national media at Arizona’s immigration law, but where are all of those folks now? Why aren’t they voicing their opinion or writing blog posts or articles on Tony Bruno or Kam Chancellor?

Do you know why? Think about it. Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe I’m blinded because of the color of my skin. Truth be told I almost didn’t even post this because outside of San Francisco, does anyone in national media care? What do you think? Let me know your thoughts.

Because I’m still trying to figure it out.

CadChica Sports

2 comments on “Spanning the Twitterverse: What Tony Bruno Is Teaching Me

  1. I’m not sure where you’re from. I’m Mexican, from the Bay Area, and a Giants fan (I was actually at the game which sparked this tweet).

    Tony Bruno is a nobody. He used to be on KNBR radio in SF (the SF Giants’ flagship station) as of a week and a half ago. His daily segment with Gary Radnich had been cancelled due to competition and Gary’s new partner Damon Bruce. Bruno barely spoke about sports with Radnich.

    Comparing this incident to the outrage of Arizona’s immigration law is completely different. Arizona’s situation involves a law. The Bruno case involves an idiot on the radio. Radio personalities have been known to put their foot in their mouth. There should be more outrage about Bruno (there is in the Bay Area), but it’s probably not worth the effort.

    Bruno’s tweet was in the “heat of the moment.” Isn’t the heat of the moment when we see a person’s true color? Was this Bruno with his PC filter off? Is this how Bruno really feels about the hispanic community?

    There are two types of racists: someone who doesn’t care that others see them as a racist, and people who are racist, but don’t want to appear to be racist. Bruno belongs in the latter.

  2. CadChica Sports says:

    Thank you John for your comment. The overall message of the post was to point out the lack of outrage on the part of the media. Mr. Bruno has worked for ESPN Radio, Fox Sports Radio & The Sporting News. Based on that, I would disagree that he is a “nobody”. He is a known personality.

    I only brought up Arizona’s immigration law to point to the level of outrage on part of the media. I believe those in the media who were outraged about Arizona’s law, should be outraged about Mr. Bruno’s comments. But alas, and I realize I’m generalizing here, they are not. Is it because of the race involved? I don’t know.

    Maybe this post is “not worth the effort” but I believe it’s at least worth asking why. If nobody asks, then there will never be an answer.

    Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

