Spanning the Twitterverse: Twitter + Sports = Winning

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets
The thrill of the retweet and the agony of the unfollow
The human drama of the twitter timeline
This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

When it comes to sports and social media, I am a BIG TIME proponent. And if ever there was a draft for which social media outlet to use in sports, I would draft Twitter first.

There is such a tremendous amount of interaction on Twitter that, quite frankly, I don’t get with Facebook, LinkedIn, or Google+, at least relative to the sports world. Where else can I, quite simply, as a fan interact with writers from Sports Illustrated, CBS or Fox Sports? I’m not just talking about me tweeting (sending) a question or comment to them. I am referring to receiving an actual reply.

Before, you could read an article in say, The New York Times, have a question about something, write a letter and never get an answer or reply.  Then with the advent of email, you could email the publication or maybe even the writer themselves. Along with the countless others that did the same thing, you still wouldn’t be able to get an answer or reply. But then along came Twitter.

To some, I’m probably late to the game but I joined Twitter two years ago this August. I wasn’t very active at first. But as I began to see that name “Twitter” on various sports sites or articles, I decided to jump in full-bore. I discovered what a valuable resource it was for exchanging sports information. People around me thought I was weird. They called me some kind of tech expert because I “twittered” or “tweeted” or “twitted”, as some called it. That was far from the truth.

Be that as it may, two years later and I’m addicted. Being the sports fan that I am, it is my go-to resource now for sports information. Sports media break stories, provide links to stories, and exchange thoughts on Twitter. And more and more sports media are realizing this as well. Just today, ESPN’s John Clayton joined Twitter. As of this writing he has 98,000+ followers. Compare this to CNBC’s sports business analyst Darren Rovell, a heavy-tweeter:

That’s some serious numbers for a sportswriter. Granted, he’s from ESPN and they do have “worldwide” impact. If I’m not mistaken, he is one of those that said he would never tweet. And yet, here he is today, joining Twitter. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard that story about a sportswriter or reporter. They will never join Twitter. Lo and behold, they wind up joining and they realize what a valuable tool it can be.

Now it’s true, it can also be a source of misinformation. The last few days since the NFL lockout ended, there have been so many rumors of players and teams “agreeing” to contracts that turned out to be untrue. Considering this is really the first full impact year of Twitter with these types of transactions that I’m surprised there weren’t more.

But, that’s the beauty of it. Fans have access to this type of information in ways we never have before. Fans can abuse it yes, but not all of them. And if you’re like me, you like to be able to ask questions when you hear a story. Sure you hear things on national sports radio shows but there’s no guarantee your question will get answered; it gets lost amongst all the other phone calls, text message, emails and tweets.

But with Twitter, I’ve been able to ask questions and get answers. Not from everyone but if it’s a good question, most will answer me. And for that I am thankful. They don’t have to answer me. I’m “nobody” to them. I’m not someone who can give them a story or a lead on their next one. I’m just a fan. By no means is this all of them but ones that have replied and truly interacted with me so maybe their my “faves” (or not). But they are at least worthy of a follow whether you agree with their opinions or not.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lisa Horne

Lisa Horne

@LisaHorne Southern California
FOXSports football & NASCAR reporter.Radio personality.KIDO 630 AM.Football awards voter.These are my opinions only.RTs are not endorsements. BOOM!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Richard Deitsch

Richard Deitsch

Writer/Reporter for Sports Illustrated/SI.com, adjunct at Columbia’s j-school, former Knight-Wallace Fellow at Michigan, fan of Ann Arbor, Buffalo & New York.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Kristi Dosh

Kristi Dosh

@SportsBizMiss Atlanta, Georgia
Sports Biz Analyst for Forbes and @CSSSports/Founder of BusinessofCollegeSports.com/Author/Attorney. Rep’d by @bradfordlit & @ewinchel. Also at kristidosh.com.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

mike freeman

mike freeman

@realfreemancbs new jersey
NFL insider for cbssports.com. Author of five books, masters degree candidate, instrument rated private pilot, former Army grunt and sometimes jackass.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Patchin Osso Wingman

Patchin Osso Wingman

@700espn Spokane, Washington
Join us daily from 3 to 6 PM on 700ESPN for all the latest in local sports.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

