Spanning the Twitterverse: Friday Fun Tweets

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets
The thrill of the retweet and the agony of the unfollow
The human drama of the twitter timeline
This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

Thank goodness it is finally Friday. In the Twitterverse, it was madness. Madness I tell ya’. Between NFL, University of Texas, Ohio State, Women’s World Cup and SEC Media Days, just to name a few, things were just crazy, crazy, busy on Twitter. We made it to Friday and that can only mean one thing: Friday Fun Tweets.

For the uninitiated, Friday Fun Tweets is a collection of tweets from this past week that I found fun/funny, humorous, interesting, dumb, etc. I try to give a little bit of background on each, but sometimes just reading the tweet is all you really need. There are also times where, for those unfamiliar with Twitter, you need to click on the link that is in the tweet itself. If you see a link, click on it. It is usually well worth it. So here we go:

 ****************************************************************************************************************

GOLF

The British Open, or The Open as locals call it, was last weekend. Given that it is one of the four majors, I naturally had to scope out some golf tweets. I don’t like golf as I’ve stated several times before in my blog but it’s a “major” sports event and so I found a couple of tweets to share. 

Irishman Darren Clarke won his first major and, in true Irishman fashion celebrated. Based on the tweet below, he must have celebrated non-stop. Please note, he won The Open on Sunday.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I then also stumbled across this little doozy. Click on the link in the tweet to see the picture of golfer Bubba Watson in a one piece…..

****************************************************************************************************************

RANDOM TWEETS

I must admit, I wasn’t quite sure how to take this tweet at first. But after reading it a second time, I couldn’t help but laugh at the imagery it created.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sometimes you hear descriptions of people or places and you often wonder if it’s true. Take Southerners for instance. Television shows give you a certain impression of them. Now, I’ve been there on vacation; seen what the people are like. They seem like any other Americans across this country. Only….they’re not. Former Arizona Cardinal Jason Wright:

****************************************************************************************************************

UNFOLLOW THIS

Followers are a high-prized commodity in most people’s eyes on Twitter. The more people you have following you, I guess, the more you can brag about it. For most, it’s about followers and following. Following is just clicking a button on someone’s file (similar to Like on Facebook), and their tweets will show up in your timeline (similar to Status or NewsFeed on Facebook).

But then there are times where someone unfollows you. I do not have a problem with that, in and of itself. What I do have a problem with is announcing it to the actual person you’re unfollowing and to the world that you’re doing it. I’ve ranted on this issue before. It drives me nuts. Why? I don’t know, it just does. So of course we had several of those this week that I just have to share, because they make the person doing the unfollow look ___________ (you fill in the blank).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This one…… 

was in response to this….

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This one is a “classic” response, courtesy of Jay Bilas.

SMH! (Shake My Head)

****************************************************************************************************************

TWEETS OF THE WEEK

I actually think I had better ones in earlier posts this week but they’ve been “used” so I came up with some runners-up.

The sports world may very well collapse Twitter next week if what ESPN’s Buster Olney says is true:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This one is a last-minute entry but well worth adding to the post. On second thought, it’s not a runners-up. It truly is the TWEET OF THE WEEK and a great way to end it. Thanks Kurt!

 ****************************************************************************************************************

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

