Spanning the Twitterverse: I MISS FOOTBALL

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets
The thrill of the retweet and the agony of the unfollow
The human drama of the twitter timeline
This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

I MISS FOOTBALL.

Yes, we are in the dog days of summer, for most people. I have my other form of football (soccer) to keep me occupied. But, we’re getting close to the time when players would be reporting to pre-season camps all across the nation in both college and pros. Instead of the anticipation of the actual season, we are left with lawyers, lockout-talk and more NCAA violations committed by school “_______” every week.

One of the reasons I joined Twitter is because of its great ability as a communication tool, particularly when it comes to sports. I like finding information on sports quickly. But it’s not just finding the information, it is understanding the story behind the story. It’s always a window into knowing what makes people tick; what and how they tweet on a subject can say a lot.  

The unfortunate side of Twitter is what has gone on this summer in sports. With NFL in lockout mode, we’ve been updated with meeting places, lunch menus, players’ troubles, players’ arguments with followers, media withdrawals and just plain goofy rumors on all fronts. With college football yet to start, it’s seems as though this off-season has been one big VIOLATION. School “X” committed this NCAA infraction. School “Y” is under NCAA investigation. Meanwhile school “Z” has been told of its punishment for violations previously committed. Not much on-the-field talk.

And that’s what has been….how can I put this nicely….umm, let’s just say disappointing. Disappointing because that appears to be the world we live in. Granted, once the NFL and players agree to a new Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA), we won’t have to hear much more about it until the next time the CBA is about to expire right? And with the amount of money surrounding college football (and basketball), unless something drastic happens, we will continue to hear about school violations, non-compliance, infractions, probation and penalties.

I can remember just being a sports fan. Growing up going to Arizona State (ASU) football games or watching University of Arizona (UofA) basketball games on television, loving my Raiders from afar; just being a fan. Scouring the sports pages for scores or team news. Waiting “patiently” for the next game. And hoping against hope that “my” team would win a championship. Such an innocent activity nowadays.

Oh sure, I could ignore Twitter, not click on ESPN or FoxSports. I could bypass Facebook and team websites. But then I wouldn’t really know what was going on anymore. Times have changed and fan-dom has too. I’m not a “religious nut” like some fans with their teams (not mentioning any names or conferences here). But I do like to know what’s going on with my teams, why they aren’t performing well, or why they didn’t land a certain recruit or free agent. The real meat behind a story is fascinating.

But you can’t have it both ways as a fan like me. If you’re an NFL fan, you will hear about labor or off-the-field player issues. If you’re a college football fan, you’re going to hear about schools in trouble. That is the current state of football that we live in. But….

I STILL MISS FOOTBALL

*****************************************************************************

TWEET OF THE DAY

Since this is Wide World of Tworts, I would be remiss if I didn’t include at least one football tweet of the day. I Spanned the Twitterverse for this funny gem:

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

