Spanning the Twitterverse: Baseball, Football, Soccer & TotD

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets
The thrill of the retweet and the agony of the unfollow
The human drama of the twitter timeline
This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

Distracted with writing my piece on Athletes & Social Media, I neglected to do the normal Spanning the Twitterverse the last few days. Interesting stuff in the twitterverse the last few days. Baseball winding down to the All-Star break. NFL still in lockout mode. Women’s World Cup holding an amazing game between the US and Brazil. And of course, the Tweet of the Day. So let’s span.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BASEBALL

In honor of the All Star three-day extravaganza that kicked off tonight with the Home Run Derby, I bring you these little gems:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NFL MEDIA

Yes, we visit Liz Mathews again for our signs of NFL media withdrawals during the lockout portion of this post. She is joined today by Andrew Brandt, who tried to get a window seat, only to be shot down by the airline rep. Why? Because of the lockout, of course.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

WOMEN’S WORLD CUP

Truth time! I did not watch the amazing game between the US women’s soccer team and Brazil. I know, I know. How can a soccer fan like me not watch it? Well….I was working. AND….I kind of forgot about it. ** hanging my head in shame now ** Seriously though, I WAS working. It was just by sheer chance that I caught the replay of Abby Wambach’s goal and the PK’s.

This means, however, that I missed most of the brilliant tweets (just guessing that there were some). It would’ve been virtually impossible to backtrack through all of those tweets to find the really great ones. I did find the first one yesterday (the power of Twitter on display) but my favorite by far is the one from former Rutgers player, Eric LeGrand, today. True it’s not exactly about the women’s team but they are inspiring him as he continues to strive toward regaining mobility after being paralyzed during a game last year against Army. If the US women can inspire him even more, then that’s AWESOME!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TWEET OF THE DAY

I have never met Lisa Horne. Truth be told again (what is it with me and truth tonight?), I honestly didn’t know who she was. Until Twitter. Discovered her randomly through Twitter and began following immediately. She is one of the few in sports media who get it; one of the better ones at FOX Sports. Twitter is a communication tool; interaction with others. She replied back to me on a few tweets and well, now, she’s probably sick of me but she still replies. For that, AND of course her tweet below, she gets my TWEET OF THE DAY.

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

