Spanning the Twitterverse: “Social”-ly Responsible

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets
The thrill of the retweet and the agony of the unfollow
The human drama of the twitter timeline
This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

Twitter.

Athletes.

I can see some of you shaking your head right now.

Or,you’re thinking about all the ‘controversial’ tweets posted by athletes recently on Twitter and rolling your eyes. Granted, it’s not just athletes that post ‘dumb’ tweets; celebrities, politicians, sports media, news media and so on. I’m sure I’ve posted a dumb tweet or two myself (not likely but one never knows).

I’ve been pondering this issue for the last few months. It would seem to me that there should be something more than “Think Before You Tweet” as a guideline for “social”-izing responsibly. I have no idea if any of the sports leagues hold social media seminars, or at least brief classes, instructing athletes on how to “socialize” responsibly. It would seem to me that any league would make that a prerequisite every year during their pre-season. Okay maybe not every year but at least once?

I sent out several emails to sports leagues, teams, college conferences and even posting the general question on Twitter. I received a few replies on Twitter and exactly one from the aforementioned leagues/teams/conferences.

That’s right. ONE.

It was from the NBA. That was nice of them to send me a reply. They politely informed me: Individual teams are better equipped to handle requests of this nature.

Umm, okay. Great way to pass the buck NBA. If you’re not doing it as a league, then don’t ask why the next time an NBA player tweets something controversial and gives the league bad publicity. Don’t ask why.

Nevertheless, I will continue my quest to obtain this information but until that time….I leave you with these tweets from people who know Twitter better than me. If you’re on Twitter & you’re not following @TweetSmarter or @TwitterBulletin, well, change that right now because they know what they’re talking about.

I know this wasn’t my typical Spanning the Twitterverse post but it’s an important topic. Stay tuned for more on this subject. SOON. If you have any legitimate ideas, please feel free to leave a comment.

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

