Spanning the Twitterverse: Tressel/Blatter. Blatter/Tressel.

Spanning the Twitterverse to bring you the constant variety of tweets….the thrill of the retweet….and the agony of the unfollow.…the human drama of the twitter timeline….This is CadChica’s Wide World of Tworts

Memorial Day. A time to remember the men and women who have served our country, giving the ultimate sacrifice: their lives. Many people looked at this day as just another barbecue day. But, the meaning is far greater. I would be remiss in not acknowledging what this day truly is about before beginning this blog. I am thankful for what they did which allows me to live in this free country. Thank you to their families as well.
God bless you all.

It was truly a Memorial Day unlike any I’ve experienced in recent times. With the advent of Twitter, I am exposed to more sports information than ever before. For this fan, that’s phenomenal on the one-hand but absolutely heart-breaking in another. Knowledge is good. But, knowledge without wisdom is aimless information. The amount of information was great to read about but yet, saddening because of the type of information it was. Boy were there two doozies of stories today in the Twitterverse that I’m still sorting through my thoughts as I type this.

Early on today, news broke that Ohio State University head football coach, Jim Tressel, had resigned amidst a swirl of allegations regarding his football program and an NCAA investigation. Talk about a jaw-dropper when you first wake up. Yes, I expected it to happen….but eventually, not this soon.

Some early Twitterverse reaction:

Right about the same time this was going on in the Twitterverse, FIFA head-honcho, Sepp Blatter held a news conference today. This was to address the ‘allegations’ against several FIFA big-wigs, including him. News of these allegations came out last week. An investigation was begun. Lo and behold, the investigation was completed quicker than a fire breaking out at Dodgers stadium. Basically, Blatter stepped up to say: “I’m clean!”.

A very small sampling of reaction today:

In no way can these few tweets represent the reaction to both of these stories in the Twitterverse today. I did not include reaction from any of the Ohio State fans today; some of them not so nice but understandable. Nevertheless, here is my take.

Regarding Tressel: It seems an appropriate time to bring this quote into the conversation:

Matthew 10:26 “…for there is nothing covered that shall not be revealed, and nothing hidden which shall not be known.

No matter who you are, your position in society, or where you come from, I believe all things hidden will come to light sooner or later. The brighter the spotlight, the more scrutiny you are under. And if you falter, it will not be a pretty sight; not in today’s media.

Full disclosure here: I was never a Jim Tressel fan. Not an Ohio State fan either. Never have been. I am a Pac-10 gal; grew up going to Arizona State football games. I am also a college sports fan, football and basketball. I’ve never met the man but I’m not foolish to believe that any person is as perfect as people make them out to be. I did not trust the media persona of Jim Tressel.

Tressel did something wrong and tried to cover it up, according to the “timeline“. If you believe Sports Illustrated’s article by George Dohrmann and David Epstein released today, it’s not as is this was the first time for Tressel. This type of behavior allegedly has gone on since his Youngstown State days, over 10 years ago. 10 years ago and it’s just now coming to light.

Matthew 10:26 “…for there is nothing covered that shall not be revealed, and nothing hidden which shall not be known.”

We all make choices in life. I don’t always make the right choice. Lord knows I try to but I don’t. And I live with those choices, both good and bad every day. I’m human. Tressel is human. He made his choices, and he has to live with them; consequences and all. And so does Ohio State and it’s fans. Which reminds me of one more bible verse:

Proverbs 16:18: Pride leads to destruction, and arrogance to downfall.

Regarding Blatter: One does not become head of an organization like FIFA without a little arrogance in his make-up. Arrogance with a capital A is how I view Sepp Blatter. Webster’s defines arrogance as:

 showing an offensive attitude of superiority : proceeding from or characterized by arrogance

When asked about the FIFA crisis, Blatter’s response was: “Crisis? What crisis?” If that doesn’t sound like a man of arrogance to you, I don’t know how else to convince you. Corruption, back room handshakes, have long been associated with FIFA. One only need Google “FIFA corruption” and you’d get a pretty good idea of where things stand.

With the next FIFA presidential vote scheduled for Wednesday and Blatter is now running unopposed, it seems as though it is business as usual. Which it is as of this writing. He will most likely get elected and corruption will continue. (For more insight, please follow @changeFIFA. Great, great insight, links and follower-suggestions on this whole situation).

Be that as it may, change is possible. Money talks, people listen right? It may be all well and good to put pressure on each country’s Football Association, the money behind FIFA, I believe, is ultimately the sponsors.

As Grant Wahl said, let the sponsors hear about your displeasure with the current state of FIFA affairs. However, when push comes to shove, in the world of football (soccer), change is okay unless “it’s my team you’re talking about”. I had posed a question earlier on Twitter, truly legit, as I didn’t know the answer. My question was how many of the top clubs have Adidas as the maker of their kits. I didn’t know the answer.

Come to find out there are quite a few, including, so I’m told, the entire MLS. Okay. My next question posed was, are fans willing to not “buy” their team’s jerseys if Adidas is the one that makes them? If they already have a jersey fine, wear it. But if a fan truly wants change, is that want enough to not support the company that makes their team’s jersey? Umm….I’m guessing no.

A couple of fans got the connection, one said it was “too early” to punish sponsors, while another reply came from an unlikely source. A trade sales manager of one of the clubs in question said “don’t penalise great Clubs that really matter to people for the sake of shisters on borrowed time. Too indirect & arbitrary”. That is the exact quote. Hmm. Anyone want to guess why he said that? 

Like I said, I believe the pressuring of sponsors is what will bring about changes in FIFA. Otherwise, the money will keep flowing both in front of the camera and in the back room deals around the world. 

To sum it up, one more tweet from Grant Wahl:

CadChica Sports

Leave a Reply

